Notice of Public Hearing – County Budget for Fiscal 2024

By Auditor | March 29, 2023

The O’Brien County Board of Supervisors will hold a public hearing on Tuesday, April 11, 2023 at 9:30 a.m. Click Here for Fiscal 2024 Proposed County Budget

Official Results South O’Brien School Bond Election March 7, 2023

By Auditor | March 7, 2023

Click below for official Results Official Results South O’Brien Bond Election

Official 2022 General Election Results

By Auditor | November 8, 2022

Final Results 2022 General Election  


Did you know this about passports?

By Auditor | June 29, 2016

Many international travelers may not realize that having an unexpired passport is sometimes not enough to enter certain foreign countries. U.S. citizens traveling on passports that expire in fewer than six months have increasingly been denied airline boarding or been detained upon arrival in certain foreign destinations. Check your passport if you are thinking of … Read more


The County Auditor is responsible for a variety of functions and duties. The main functions

  • Commissioner of Elections (federal, state, county, city and school district)
  • Preparing and certifying tax levies
  • Maintaining financial records
  • Clerk to the Board of Supervisors
  • Keeping Real Estate Transfer Records
  • Maintains a drainage record for all drainage districts of the county
  • Payroll and Human Resources Manager

Upcoming Elections

  • March 2, 2023 ~ South O'Brien Special Bond
  • November 7, 2023 ~ City/School Elections

Voting Precincts

Voters will cast their votes at their General Election polling places for all elections unless otherwise indicated.  The following precincts have been established effective January 15, 2022 for all City, School, Primary or General Elections:

Precinct                                                      Voting Location

Precinct 1     Carroll-Floyd                              Crossroads Pavilion 301 34th Ave. - Sheldon

Precinct 2     Franklin                                      Sanborn Community Center 225 Main St. - Sanborn

Precinct 3     Hartley-Lincoln-Omega             Hartley Community Center  820 2nd St. NE- Hartley

Precinct 4    Sheldon 1st Ward                        Crossroads Pavilion 301 34th Ave. - Sheldon

Precinct 5   Sheldon 2nd Ward                       Crossroads Pavilion 301 34th Ave. - Sheldon

Precinct 6   Sheldon 3rd Ward                        Crossroads Pavilion 301 34th Ave. - Sheldon

Precinct 7  Summit-Center-Dale-Highland     Cthouse Assembly Rm 155 S Hayes Ave. - Primghar

Precinct 8  Union-Baker-Caledonia                 City Hall 127 S Main St. - Paullina

Precinct 9  Waterman-Grant-Liberty               RL Johannsen Center  110 Ash St. - Sutherland